Minimalism- How it all started

So, minimalism.  That’s that thing where you live with less, right?

Yeah.  Kinda.

Coming here, I assume you all already know about minimalism, whether you practice it yourself or not.

But here’s a nice link in case you don’t.  Minimalism is living with less things, but more meaning.

All minimalists have their reason for taking part, whether the goal is simple de-cluttering or extreme cut-backs.

Here’s mine.

For all my life I’ve been a painter.  That’s what I lived for, and that’s what slowly fizzled and came to an end two years ago.  I convinced myself it was just artblock.  “I just need some time off.”  When that didn’t work, “I just need a better studio, better equipment, more inspiration.”  This failed attempt to restore the happiness I found in painting turned into an expenditure of over $10,000.  That’s just one year.

In just one year, I made over $10,000 at my part-time job, and had nothing to show for it but a room full of junk that didn’t make me happy, didn’t inspire me, didn’t do anything but fill me with shame, anxiety, and a need for change.

Sadly accepting my passion for painting was gone and turning a blind and ashamed eye to my expenditures, I moved on to photography.

And then came my first brush with minimalism.

I got into studio photography.  And for that, well, you need a studio.  In my studio filled with my bed, 3 desks and 4+, I had only about 3’x6′ of shooting space.  Feeling a bit cramped, I turned to the web for ideas on how to make room.

I stumbled upon an article on sleeping on the floor here .  So, the bed-frame and box-spring went into the closet, giving me much more space.  In the article there was mention of this thing called ‘minimalism’, and the idea of being able to pack up one’s things and head off onto a new adventure in a matter of minutes.

Interesting.  Why would you want to live with such few things?

I researched minimalism and what it meant.  How it’s about “Taking what you love and need in life, and getting rid of everything else”.

I looked around.  Did all this stuff filling my home make me happy?  No.

It made me feel anxious, miserable, ashamed, and wasteful.

In just a few months I now have one desk, 2 shelves, a roll-up-and-go bed, and I’m still not done.

It’s freeing to get rid of all these things, and the more I give away the better I feel.  I now have goals to get my entire life to fit in 4 bags or less in about a year, move out on my own back to the Colorado mountains, and explore this wonderful world I’ve been too oppressed by junk to see.

Leave a Reply

